ANOTHER BURGER TO GO ON THE LIST

As you’ll read in my bio, I’m on a mission to find the best burger in the world. I have come close to finding a couple of times, and this week whilst in London I have another I will definitely add to my top ten.

Steve and me went down to London for a few days, we did the sights, a show every night and made the most of all the food London has to offer. Before we went I did my research on Google: “Best burger in London” which appears to be a very popular topic, there are plenty of sites which will give you their top ten. If I’m completely honest I based my opinion on pictures only, and decided that whilst in London we’d try and hunt down Honest Burgers, which having 10 small restaurants in London made that quite possible.

We went to the Soho restaurant, tucked away on Meard street. It’s a small but cosy and relaxed place. Unfortunately they don’t take bookings and I can imagine many people have to turned away at peak times, but luckily we chose to go around 4pm for an early dinner before going to see a show so were showed straight to a table. They have a good choice of different burgers, sides and sauces – we tried the bacon ketchup. I had to go for the “Honest” burger: beef, red onion relish, smoked bacon, mature cheddar, pickled cucumber and lettuce. Steve went for the “Tribute”: beef, bacon, american cheese, burger sauce, French’s mustard, pickles, onion and lettuce. The burgers were served perfectly pink and juicy in a toasted brioche bun, served with a very generous portion of rosemary salted chips. Delicious!

IMG_7331 IMG_7329 IMG_7328

The next day I woke up very excited to go to Borough Food Market. We starve ourselves all morning so that we could stuff ourselves silly with all the delights the market had to offer! There is so much to choose from, settling on one stall for lunch is a very hard task. I went for a “burgeritto” combining my love of burgers and Mexican food – a tortilla wrap loaded with cheese, salad, jalapeños, pickles and mini burgers. Steve went for a breakfast bun and later on we shared a barbecued marinated halloumi sandwich…eyes bigger than our bellies!

IMG_7334 IMG_7335 IMG_7354

Leave a Reply

