SENTIMENTAL SUNDAYS: A RETRO CLASSIC

I was making Sunday lunch for James’ Mum and Dad and decided to make one of my favourite childhood puddings and a retro classic for dessert, Pineapple Upside Down Cake/Pudding. To my horror, James said he didn’t remember ever eating it (which I’ve later been told wasn’t true) so this was even more of a reason to make it. When I told my friends that this is what I had made, they all had different methods of preparing it, some said they made it in a pan first to make the toffee sauce and some said they made the toffee sauce separately. When my Mum used to make it, I don’t really remember her making the toffee sauce element, just the cake and fruit. But anyway I found this recipe which I think worked excellently and was really simple to do. I used pitted, frozen cherries (I prefer the taste than glac, but you could use canned or glacé) and put them inside the pineapple rings still frozen and they cooked in the oven. Best served on a cosy evening, with plenty of lovely, double cream.

Serves 6

Ingredients

For the topping:

50g softened butter

50g light soft brown sugar

7 pineapple rings in natural juice

Frozen/glacé cherries

For the cake:

100g softened butter

100g golden caster sugar

100g self-raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

Method

  1. Heat oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4. For the topping, beat the butter and sugar together until creamy. Spread over the base and a quarter of the way up the sides of a 20-21cm round cake tin. Arrange pineapple rings on top, then place cherries in the centres of the rings.
  2. Place the cake ingredients in a bowl along with 2 tbsp of the pineapple juice and, using an electric whisk, beat to a soft consistency. Spoon into the tin on top of the pineapple and smooth it out so it’s level. Bake for 35 mins. Leave to stand for 5 mins, then turn out onto a plate.

20151129_140546-2

 

 

Leave a Reply

