SENTIMENTAL SUNDAYS: SPAGHETTI BOLOGNESE

Spaghetti Bolognese is a big deal in the Sackett family. As children it was our favourite meal, first choice when we were taken out to a restaurant and the first meal we all learnt to cook. When we got to about age 10 we all learnt how to make spaghetti bolognese by my mum, and from this day forward Monday’s became spaghetti bolognese nights. The first few times were accompanied by my mum or sometimes grandma, until eventually we could be trusted and relied on to make it on our own and serve it up for the family.

Bolognese is one of those recipes that everyone has their own variation of. Once when I was cooking it with my Grandma, she suggested adding a teaspoon of marmite to give an extra meaty flavour. Mum and me decided to add grated carrot after watching Gary Rhode’s make bolognese on a children’s cookery programme. My Aunty Gail adds bacon to hers. Lydia’s boyfriend James adds milk and white wine to his.  And one I’ve not tried yet, but Steve’s friend Ross adds peas and honey to his!

I’m sure some children would see cooking for their whole family a real chore, but I am really thankful to my mum for encouraging us and giving us the time to learn such a great and useful skill. Learning to cook spaghetti bolognese, taught me so many basics of cooking and exposed me to the fun and joys of creating and eating food.

FullSizeRender (2)

3 thoughts on “SENTIMENTAL SUNDAYS: SPAGHETTI BOLOGNESE

Leave a Reply

